DJ Shadow announes new LP ‘Action Adventure,’ shares “Ozone Scraper”

DJ Shadow announced a new album, Action Adventure, due out October 27 via Mass Appeal/Liquid Amber. It’s his seventh studio LP, the follow-up to 2019’s star-studded Our Pathetic Age, which featured De La Soul, Run the Jewels, Nas, Wiki, Interpol’s Paul Banks, Future Islands’ Samuel Herring, Inspectah Deck, Ghostface Killah, Raekwon, and more. He’s taking a different tack on Action Adventure, however, which has no featured guests and is mostly instrumental. “This is about my relationship to music. My life as a collector and curator. All my records and tapes, and no one else’s,” he says, adding, “I didn’t want to write music that was formatted for vocalists. I wanted to write music that flexed different energies.” See the cover art and tracklist below.

The lead single is “Ozone Scraper,” which is accompanied by a video directed by Stefano Ottaviano. Watch it below.

DJ Shadow has a few shows coming up, including dates with Thievery Corporation and a festival set at Hammonton, NJ’s Submersion. See all dates below.

[embedded content]

1. Ozone Scraper
2. All My
3. Time and Space
4. Craig, Ingels, & Wrightson
5. Witches Vs. Warlocks
6. A Narrow Escape
7. You Played Me
8. Free For All
9. The Prophecy
10. Friend Or Foe
11. Fleeting Youth (An Audible Life)
12. Reflecting Pool
13. Forever Changed
14. She’s Evolving

10/06 – Hammonton, NJ @ Headlining Submersion Festival
10/21 – Denver, CO @ Mission Ballroom w/ Thievery Corporation
10/22 – Chicago, IL @ Radius w/ Thievery Corporation