Former Midlake singer singer Tim Smith announces debut album as Harp, shares “I Am The Seed”

Harp, the new project of former Midlake frontman Tim Smith and wife Kathi Zung, will release their debut album, Albion, on December 1 via Bella Union. This is his first full-length since Midlake’s 2010 album The Courage of Others.

While his time with Midlake pulled from ’70s influences like Fleetwood Mac and Pentangle, Smith became interested in a new decade for Harp. “Along came ‘80s music,” Smith says. “I knew of bands and I had heard the odd song, but I had never dug deep into Joy Division, Cocteau Twins, The Smiths, Tears For Fears before. The major album for me though was The Cure’s Faith, which I listened to non-stop for three years. That music really resonated with me, so I was led in a different direction, which took a long time to figure out, because I was on my own, learning how to record better, mix better, write better.”

You can hear those ’80s influences subtly in the album’s first single, “I Am the Seed,” but it’s still obvious this is the same person who gave us Midlake’s “Roscoe.” The video, which he and Kathi co-directed, finds his interest in olden times still with us. Watch that below.

[embedded content]

Harp – Albion:
1. The Pleasant Grey
2. I Am The Seed
3. A Fountain
4. Daughters of Albion
5. Chrystals
6. Country Cathedral Drive
7. Shining Spires
8. Silver Wings
9. Seven Long Suns
10. Moon
11. Throne of Amber
12. Herstmonceux