Fuming Mouth announce new album ‘Last Day of Sun,’ share “The Silence Beyond Life”

Death metal/hardcore bruisers Fuming Mouth have announced their sophomore album, Last Day of Sun, due November 3 via Nuclear Blast (pre-order). It’s the band’s first album since vocalist Mark Whelan was declared cancer-free.

“What started as a fictional concept album became incredibly real,” Mark says. “I was facing certain death, but as I kept writing the album it’s theme became clear. You could die tomorrow. Seize the day.”

The first single is “The Silence Beyond Life,” which Mark calls the band’s “most melodic and heaviest song to date” and we concur. It’s brutal at times, but that chorus soars. The song “[draws] influence from God Macabre, Gorement, and other melodic Swedish death metal acts of the time like Therion and Cemetary,” Mark says. “It’s a song about trying to live while longing to die and overcoming that.”

Listen and watch the video below.

[embedded content]

1. Out of Time
2. Respect and Blasphemy
3. The Silence Beyond Life
4. The Sign of Pain
5. Leaving Euphoria
6. I’ll Find You
7. Disgusterlude
8. Kill the Disease
9. Last Day of Sun
10. R.I.P. (Rest in Piss)
11. Burial Practices
12. Postfigurement