Ian Sweet announces new LP ‘Sucker,’ taps Sarah Squirm for “Your Spit” video, touring w/ Please Don’t Destroy

Just over a year after the release of her 2022 EP Star Stuff, Ian Sweet has announced a new album. Sucker is due November 3 via Polyvinyl, and Jillian Medford began writing it following a cross-country road trip. “I was feeling very stuck in L.A. and was trying to get comfortable with spending more time alone again,” she explains. “I went there not knowing exactly what I wanted to do or make, but I knew I wanted to explore and get out of my comfort zone. I forced myself to make things on the spot, in the moment and not overthink it too much.” Check out the artwork and tracklist below.

The lead single is "Your Spit," a high-energy, anti-romantic indie synth track. “‘Your Spit’ is about the joy and fear that surrounds new relationships. The excitement that’s also accompanied by doubt. But I’d be lying if I didn’t say the song is just mostly about making out,” Jillian says. The song comes with a Brittany Reeber-directed music video featuring Saturday Night Live cast members Sarah Sherman (aka Sarah Squirm) and Martin Herlihy. Watch it below.

Ian Sweet will be on tour for a handful of dates through the end of the summer, joined by comedy trio Please Don't Destroy (of which Martin Herlihy is a member) for a pair of shows this weekend. She comes to NYC on August 22 at Elsewhere Rooftop for a co-headlining show with Why Bonnie. Tickets are available now, and all dates are listed below.

[embedded content]


  1. Bloody Knees
  2. Smoking Again
  3. Emergency Contact
  4. Sucker
  5. Comeback
  6. Your Spit
  7. Clean
  8. FIGHT
  9. Slowdance
  10. Hard

IAN SWEET -- 2023 Tour Dates
Fri. Aug. 11 - Seattle, WA @ Neptune Theatre %
Sat. Aug. 12 - Denver, CO @ Paramount Theatre %
Thu. Aug. 17 - Los Angeles, CA @ Skirball Cultural Center
Tue. Aug. 22 - Brooklyn, NY @ Elsewhere - Rooftop $
Thu. Nov. 9 - London, UK @ Pitchfork Music Festival London
% w/ Please Don’t Destroy
$ co-headline w/ Why Bonnie