Kane Strang’s new band Office Dog prep debut album, share “Big Air”

New Zealand singer-songwriter Kane Strang, who has released albums of Dead Oceans and Ba Da Bing!, now leads Auckland trio Office Dog, whose debut album, Spiel, will be out January 26 via New West / Flying Nun.

You don’t have to wait till 2024 to hear some of it though, as jangly and very catchy single “Big Air” is out now, along with a video directed by Sophie Black. “‘Big Air’ came about during a period where I was living back in Dunedin. Lyrically, I think it’s about life’s peaks and troughs and how sometimes with a big high there’s a heavy low that follows,” Strang says. “With the video though, I like that it just focuses on this first part – the comedown never comes and it’s just these three kids having a day completely to themselves, catching some big air.”

Watch the video below

[embedded content]

1. Shade
2. Antidote
3. Gleam
4. Warmer
5. Big Air
6. Tightropes
7. In the Red
8. Hand in Hand
9. Cut the Ribbon
10. Teeth
11. The Crater
12. Spiel