The Iron Roses (Boysetsfire’s Nathan Gray) releasing new LP; watch “Old Guard” video

Nathan Gray of Boysetsfire is also vocalist of The Iron Roses; previously they’ve used the moniker for their Americana-tinged solo material, and the current incarnation of the project also features Becky Fontaine (vocals), Philip “Eugenius” Smith (guitar and vocals), Pedro Aida (guitar and backing vocals), Michael Espinosa (bass and backing vocals), and Steve Cerri (drums). Their new self-titled album is out on October 20 via Iodine Recordings (pre-order); see the cover art and tracklist below.

We’re premiering the video for new single “Old Guard,” an anthemic punk song with a hopeful outlook. “We were really excited to have an opportunity to create a video for ‘Old Guard,'” Nathan says. “The song itself speaks to the power younger generations have to overthrow the systems and ideals that no longer serve the community as a whole When we thought about how to translate that visually, we knew we wanted to invite folks from many walks of life to join us in this really intense, seemingly chaotic celebration that was more of a shared uprising than ‘just’ a video shoot. As someone who has spent a lifetime finding themself, I loved that we had queer, trans and non-binary folks along with allies, BIPOC folks and people both old and young in that space. Blurring the lines between band and crowd really made it feel like we were all in this intense transformation together where it was safe to be fervent and joyful. Everyone in that room represented each of us as The Iron Roses, and vice versa. It was a truly special evening.”

Becky adds, “this song always makes me think of my own children, who have said no to gender and social norms for themselves. I am continually in awe of their generation, and truly believe that if we can keep them alive long enough, they will save us from the social and political climate we are currently in. It was great to create a video that proved the uprising can be inspired by anger and frustration, but carried out in joy. The energy that was in the room with us when we filmed this will stay with me in hope, forever.”

[embedded content]

“Screaming for a Change”
“Soldier of Fortune”
“Hearts of Fire”
“Around & ‘Round”
“Old Guard”
“Rebel Soul Sound”
“Justify the Lies”
“Raising Hell”
“The Hustle”
“Revolution Summer”