The National release new album ‘Laugh Track’ ft. Bon Iver, Phoebe Bridgers, & Rosanne Cash

As they said they would on stage at their Homecoming festival in Cincinnati this past weekend, The National have just released their second album of 2023. They’re considering it the second half of a double album that began with April’s First Two Pages of Frankenstein. Some of the material was introduced to the public even before Frankstein was announced, like the Bon Iver collaboration “Weird Goodbyes” that was released as a single in 2022, though much of it was recorded this past May, after Frankenstein was already out. It also includes recent singles “Space Invader” and “Alphabet City.” In addition to Bon Iver, it has guest vocals from Phoebe Bridgers (who also appears on two of Frankenstein‘s songs) and Rosanne Cash. It also includes contributions from the London Contemporary Orchestra, So Percussion, Thomas Bartlett, Lisa Hannigan, Benjamin Lanz, Mina Tindle, Jan St. Werner, and more. It feels cut from the same cloth as its previously-released companion, and at times it feels even more urgent. Stream the full album below.

[embedded content]

1. Alphabet City
2. Deep End (Paul’s In Pieces)
3. Weird Goodbyes (feat. Bon Iver)
4. Turn Off The House
5. Dreaming
6. Laugh Track (feat. Phoebe Bridgers)
7. Space Invader
8. Hornets
9. Coat On A Hook
10. Tour Manager
11. Crumble (feat. Rosanne Cash)
12. Smoke Detector