The Umbrellas announce new LP, touring with The Lemon Twigs (listen to “Three Cheers!”)

San Francisco indiepop combo The Umbrellas will be back with their second album, Fairweather Friend, on January 26 via Slumberland (North America) / Tough Love (UK/EU). The band produced it themselves and are bringing a little more of their live show oomph to the production than featured on their terrific debut.

You can hear that added muscle on the album’s excellent opening song, “Three Cheers!,” which features a thunderous rhythm section, a rush of furiously strummed guitars, and the tradeoff lead vocals of singer/guitarists Matt Ferrera and Morgan Stanley. It plays like a mix of The Pastels and Ned’s Atomic Dustbin. “It’s a pseudo-political song about power struggles that occur in a job situation, or a friend group,” says bassist Nick Oka. “It’s an observational song.”

You can watch the video, directed by Michael Cruz, below.

The Umbrellas have West Coast tour dates on the horizon, including a few supporting The Lemon Twigs. All dates are listed below.

[embedded content]

Fairweather Friend
1. Three Cheers!
2. Goodbye
3. Toe the Line
4. Echoes
5. Say What You Mean
6. Games
7. Gone
8. When You Find Out
9. Blue
10. P.M.

12/7/23 – Los Angles, CA – Permanent Records*
12/8/23 – San Diego, CA – Gonzo Ramen*
12/9/23 – Felton, CA – Felton Music Hall^
12/11/23 – San Francisco, CA – Cafe Du Nord^
12/12/23 – San Francisco, CA – Cafe Du Nord^

* w/ April Magazine
^ supporting The Lemon Twigs