Oasis announce 30th anniversary reissue of ‘Definitely Maybe’ featuring unheard versions

Oasis have announced a 30th anniversary reissue of ‘Definitely Maybe’, featuring previously unheard recordings and outtakes. Find all the details below.

The special edition of the Britpop band’s 1994 debut album is due for release on August 30 via Big Brother Recordings. It’ll be available as a limited-edition 4LP record, a deluxe 2CD, exclusive coloured vinyl and other formats – pre-order here.

‘Definitely Maybe (30th Anniversary Deluxe Edition)’ contains tracks from the discarded original recording session at Monnow Valley Studios, along with outtakes recorded at Sawmills Studios in Cornwall – mixed for the first time by Noel Gallagher and Callum Marinho.

The album also includes an unreleased demo version of ‘Sad Song’. Originally released as a bonus track, this alternative take features Liam Gallagher’s vocals.


Additionally, the reissue boasts brand-new artwork by the original art designer Brian Cannon for Microdot and original sleeve photographer Michael Spencer Jones, as well as new sleeve notes from Creation Records boss Alan McGee and journalist Hamish MacBain.

The exclusive coloured vinyl editions are an ‘Up In The Sky’ lyric-inspired blue and white marble 2LP, and a ‘Digsy’s Dinner’ lyric-inspired pink and white marble 2LP. Fans can buy a limited-edition blue cassette too, and pre-order/pre-save on digital platforms.

All formats include the 2014 remastered version of ‘Definitely Maybe’. Check out the preview images below.

Oasis 'Definitely Maybe' 30th anniversary reissue
Oasis ‘Definitely Maybe’ 30th anniversary reissue. CREDIT: Press
Oasis 'Definitely Maybe' 30th anniversary reissue
Oasis ‘Definitely Maybe’ 30th anniversary reissue. CREDIT: Press
Oasis 'Definitely Maybe' 30th anniversary reissue
Oasis ‘Definitely Maybe’ 30th anniversary reissue. CREDIT: Press
Oasis 'Definitely Maybe' 30th anniversary reissue
Oasis ‘Definitely Maybe’ 30th anniversary reissue. CREDIT: Press

A description reads: “Following signing a worldwide record deal, Liam Gallagher, Noel Gallagher, Paul ‘Bonehead’ Arthurs, Paul McGuigan and Tony McCarroll decamped to Monnow Valley studios on the Welsh borders of Monmouthshire, to capture the kinetic energy of their live shows on record.

“At the time, the initial recordings felt overly technical and polished, failing to capture the essence of the band. The sessions were ultimately scrapped, and the band moved to the remote confines of Sawmills Studios in Cornwall to re-record the album. Eventually, with the addition of Owen Morris joining to complete the definitive mixes, ‘Definitely Maybe’ was formed.”

It adds: “The Monnow Valley recordings and Sawmill outtakes, now unearthed for the first time, offer a new and compelling understanding of the process that led to the finished article.

“With its raw edges and restless energy, ‘Definitely Maybe’ always sounded like an album that had arrived fully formed – however the newly revealed versions provide fans with a fascinating new insight into the album; demonstrating the self-belief that drove the early years of Oasis and the determination it took to create their debut.

“Shelved until now, revisiting the archive 30 years on signifies the importance of the recording process in telling the story of the uneasy creation of one of the most vital albums of all time.”

‘Definitely Maybe’ landed at Number One in the UK and became the fastest-selling debut album ever at the time. The record is now BPI-certified eight times platinum in the UK, selling over 6.1million copies globally. It is the second most streamed album of the ’90s in the UK, beaten by its successor ‘(What’s The Story) Morning Glory?’ (1995).

The tracklist for Oasis’ ‘Definitely Maybe (30th Anniversary Deluxe Edition)’ is: 

Volume 1
1. ‘Rock ‘n’ Roll Star’ (Remastered)
2. ‘Shakermaker’ (Remastered)
3. ‘Live Forever’ (Remastered)
4. ‘Up In The Sky’ (Remastered)
5. ‘Columbia’ (Remastered)
6. ‘Supersonic’ (Remastered)
7. ‘Bring It On Down’ (Remastered)
8. ‘Cigarettes & Alcohol’ (Remastered)
9. ‘Digsy’s Dinner’ (Remastered)
10. ‘Slide Away’ (Remastered)
11. ‘Married With Children’ (Remastered)

Volume 2
1. ‘Rock ‘n’ Roll Star’ (Monnow Valley Version)
2. ‘Shakermaker’ (Monnow Valley Version)
3. ‘Live Forever’ (Monnow Valley Version)
4. ‘Up In The Sky’ (Monnow Valley Version)
5. ‘Columbia’ (Monnow Valley Version)
6. ‘Bring It On Down’ (Monnow Valley Version)
7. ‘Cigarettes & Alcohol’ (Monnow Valley Version)
8. ‘Digsy’s Dinner’ (Monnow Valley Version)
9. ‘Rock ‘n’ Roll Star’ (Sawmills Outtake)
10. ‘Up In The Sky’ (Sawmills Outtake)
11. ‘Columbia’ (Sawmills Outtake)
12. ‘Bring It On Down’ (Sawmills Outtake)
13. ‘Cigarettes & Alcohol’ (Sawmills Outtake)
14. ‘Digsy’s Dinner’ (Sawmills Outtake)
15. ‘Slide Away’ (Sawmills Outtake)
16. ‘Sad Song’ (Mauldeth Road West Demo, Nov’ 92)

[embedded content]

The band teased the forthcoming reissue online this week, leading some fans to believe that a reunion was on the cards. Last year, Noel confirmed that a new edition of ‘Definitely Maybe’ would be arriving in 2024 to celebrate its three-decade milestone.

His estranged brother and former bandmate Liam, meanwhile, is due to embark on a special ‘Definitely Maybe’ UK and Ireland tour next month. He’ll also play the album in full when he headlines Reading & Leeds in August.

LG previously claimed that Noel had been asked to participate in his ‘Definitely Maybe’ shows, but he “refused”. He has teased that he’ll be playing some “naughty” B-sides at the gigs, ruled out airing any of his solo material, and said he’s “gonna go for it visually”.

Last month, Oasis shared an early live recording of ‘Supersonic’ to mark the 30th anniversary of the band’s debut single.

You can see Liam Gallagher’s 2024 UK and Ireland ‘Definitely Maybe’ tour dates below, and find any remaining tickets here.

Liam Gallagher will play: 

01 – Utilita Arena, Sheffield
03 – Utilita Arena, Cardiff
06 – The O2, London 
07 – The O2, London 
10 – The O2, London
11 – The O2, London
15 – Co-Op Live, Manchester
16 – Co-Op Live, Manchester
19 – OVO Hydro, Glasgow
20 – OVO Hydro, Glasgow
23 – 3Arena, Dublin
24 – 3Arena, Dublin
27 – Co-Op Live, Manchester
28 – Co-Op Live, Manchester